Personality Color: orange

Orange dogs are likely young, energetic, and enthusiastic with lots of love to give! They will thrive with regular exercise, and some training classes would be a good idea. These dogs would be a great companion for an active person who enjoys running or hiking in the park. Fenced-in yard a plus!
  • young
  • male

Bio data

HIeeeeee! I’m Monty and I’m an energetic, playful, and friendly young pup! I really like play with toys and chasing balls, I love to run, learn, and be with people. I’ll need some training, positive experiences, playtime, and brain games. I’m pretty smart and already know sit, I just have to work on my other skills too! Visit me today!

Kids: 8+, jumpy/mouthy, excitable puppy

Dogs: friendly sniffing, offers play, may be too much for some dogs

Monty has been spending some time in foster, here’s what the humans have to say about him: 

Hieeeeee, I’m Monty!  I’m an energetic, playful, friendly, and curious young pup!  I’m currently in foster care and like it much better than being at the shelter.  In foster care I get to spend lots of time doing the things I love like playing with stuffed squeaky toys, chasing balls, running, learning, exploring and being with people.  I’m looking for a home where I’ll get lots of physical exercise, training, enrichment, and mental stimulation.

Here are some other things I would like my people to know about me:

My manners weren’t the greatest at the shelter, but that’s because I was pretty stressed out. In my foster home, when it’s time to go outside, I stand politely while my foster mom puts on my collar and harness and attaches my leash.  I do not jump or pull to get out the door and I am a good loose leash walker.   About one week into fostering me my foster mom hurt her knee and it was uncomfortable for her to walk fast (especially downhill) or make sudden movements.  She was really impressed with how easy I was to walk.

I am very friendly and like to greet other people and dogs on walks (once my mom asks if it’s okay for me to say hi).  I’ve met lots of dogs in my neighborhood and have gotten along with all of them.  I’m interested in cats and have seen a few of them while on walks. I have tried to greet them but most run away before I get close.  Only one let me get near him and he swatted me on my nose!  I have not met any indoor cats.

I am house trained and crate trained.  I slept overnight in my crate for the first week I was in foster care but now I sleep on my foster mom’s bed.  I know that I am allowed on that bed or the sofa, but no other furniture.

I’m curious and like to explore my surroundings.  My mom says that if she doesn’t give me something to do, I will find something to do on my own.  It helps to have boundaries and I am not yet allowed in all the rooms of the house.  I’m also still learning what is okay to play with and what is not, so when the humans can’t keep an eye on me, I spend time in my crate with a stuffed Kong or chew toy.  Usually, I fall asleep within about 10 minutes.  I’ve been in my crate for up to 5-6 hours during the day when they’ve been at work or running errands.

I like to eat my kibble from a puzzle feeder or snuffle mat because they help engage my brain! I’ve been doing some basic training while in foster care and know sit, down and stay.  I’m working on “leave it” and dropping toys when asked.  It will be important to continue my training in my new home because I get bored easily.

I love to run and play chase games (with dogs or humans!). My play style tends to be rough and tumble and I can sometimes get overexcited.  It helps to take calming breaks every so often.  I would love to have a fenced in backyard where I could run around with some dog or human kid siblings.  But if that’s not possible I’d also be happy with lots of walks, playtime, and brain games. Once my puppy energy is spent, I’m a big old snuggle bug!  I love to cuddle up next to my people and rest my head in a lap or crook of an elbow.

I’ll be one-year old in October and I really, really want to celebrate my birthday in a furever home!